Who Am I?

1. Who are you? .. 2. What is most valuable to you in life? .. 3. What is your religious background and personal beliefs? How important is it to you? Why? … 4. What is your cultural background? How important is it to you? Why? 5. What do you hope for in life? 

Hi. My name is Jerica Deck. I’m seventeen years old and am a senior at Bishop McNamara high school. I love to write. I have been on the newspaper for years and have been an editor for three. I also like to write poems, short stories, and even music. What most people don’t know is that I love to draw and I love music. I’ve played piano since the third grade and can tell what time period a song came from just by listening to it. I also love listening to music. I love most genres from pop to hip hop and even some alternative music. My favorite color is purple and I love fashion. I love to laugh and smile. I’m very honest, loyal, caring, and sweet.

To me the most valuable thing in life to me are my friends and family. The people who have been there for me in my roughest moments and cheer me on when I succeed mean the world to me. I don’t know what I’d do without people I can count on, people who make me laugh, and being surrounded by loyal, honest, good-hearted, and reliable people. In return I try to do the same for them.

I was raised in a southern Baptist household, but I believe a mixture of Baptist and personal beliefs. I believe that God made all people good-natured in some sense, and that we should love one another regardless of race, gender, age, sexual orientation, or religion. I think God wants us to morally be the best people we can be, and that the key to getting into heaven is being a good person. I think his job is to provide guidance, a safe place, and to give people enough faith to carry on in any situation. I don’t think the symbols and motions of Christianity are too important in comparison to the basic values. The bible is not a rule book, it was written by people thousands of years ago. There is a difference between using the religion as a infallible code of contact, going through the motions, and actually thinking with Christ. I think having a strong foundation in personal beliefs is important because following religion blindly defeats the purpose of religion. However figuring out what you believe for yourself and why can help aid you if how you live your life and give you and can help give you strength at your weakest moments.

I am also of African-American descent. I think this is a very important part of me because my heritage is what makes me who am I am today. Keeping African culture alive is important because it is a way to strengthen identity. To do this I try to learn a lot about black history, the civil rights movement, and more. I also refuse to perm my hair, a chemical process that straightens black hair in order to mimic European straight hair. I think this part of my culture is a part of me, but it doesn’t define me. It’s important to remember your past, but more important to know where you’re going. I wouldn’t change the way I think, talk, or act in order to conform to society’s definition of being black.

Another strong part of my culture is fashion and music. I love to change my style to grow with my personality as I develop into and more mature individual. Music provides an escape for me. These parts of my culture are extremely important to me because they differentiate me from other people. They also allow me to express myself and present who I am to the world.

In life I would like to be a journalist in New York City and start a family. Money and success are not that important to me. I just want to love what I do, be a good person, and inspire the next generation to be good people. I want to be in a safe, positive environment where I can grow and be happy.

One thought on “Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

